planet gong bazaar
artwork Gong
Rejoice! I'm Dead! (Deluxe 12" Hardback Book 3CD edition)
Snapper Records, Mad Fish SMACD1049 | 16.09.2016

(Sorry, all gone.)

Stunning new album in a hardback book format - with added 5.1 surround mix disc and CD of bonus tracks recorded during the sessions.

Now available.

From the opening joyfully, proclamatory chord through the magnificent musical opus that is 'The Unspeakable Stands Revealed' to the uplifting, triumphant coda of the last track this is an exceptionally good album.

It is vibrant with deep Gongness but with no hint of pastiche. It presents an new inspiring mix of high musical ability, creativity and focus. And it is without doubt - Gong.

The potentially difficult balancing act of being true to rich legacy of Gong, daevid and the memory of all that has been while not being weighed down by it, and at the same time as being true to themselves has not just been successfully accomplished, it has been totally vaulted over with grace, style and engagement. I find it hard to imagine that they could have achieved it any more completely than they have - daevid, I know, would be over-joyed.

There are simply no weak tracks. After the 'flag-planting' opening track comes the celebratory 'Rejoice!' for our absent friend, the Floydian 'Kapital' and two ethereal cameo appearances by daevid himself. The last three tracks put me in mind of the second side of 'You' (yes, I think it could be that that good) in the quality of their musicality, narrative and even the 'inner' journey they invite you on.

I just cry at the end of the album each time I listen to it.

The sound quality is fantastic, it's a really well produced album. A triumph in every respect.

Available as a single CD - 'Rejoice! I'm Dead!' CD

Tracks: [59.41]
  1. The Thing That Should Be [3'34]
  2. Rejoice! [10'17]
  3. Kapital [3'21]
  4. Model Village [6'43]
  5. Beatrix [2'54]
  6. Visions [4'29]
  7. The Unspeakable Stands Revealed [11'49]
  8. Through Restless Seas I Come [6'58]
  9. Insert Yr Own Prophecy [9'36]
  • Dave Sturt: {bass, vocals}
  • Kavus Tobabi: {vocals, guitar}
  • Fabio Golfetti: {guitar, vocals}
  • Ian East: {sax, flute}
  • Cheb Nettles: {drums, vocals}
  • Graham Clark: {violin - 1}
  • Steve Hillage: {guitar solo - 2}
  • Didier Malherbe: {duduk - 4,7}
Production credits:
  • Engineered by Nick Howiantz and Gong at Brixton Hill Studios, London, Spring 2016.
  • Mixed by Mark Cawthra (Infallible Ear) and Dave Sturt (Swimming Head)