gong mandalaplanet gong bazaar

image soon
Rejoice! I'm Dead! (CD)
Snapper Records, Mad Fish SMACD1049 || 16.09.2016 || £8.33 USD  EUR  JPY  + p+p +tax

A wonderful new album - all that could be hoped for and more.

Now available.

From the opening joyfully, proclamatory chord through the magnificent musical opus that is 'The Unspeakable Stands Revealed' to the uplifting, triumphant coda of the last track this is an exceptionally good album.

It is vibrant with deep Gongness but with no hint of pastiche. It presents an new inspiring mix of high musical ability, creativity and focus. And it is without doubt - Gong.

The potentially difficult balancing act of being true to rich legacy of Gong, daevid and the memory of all that has been while not being weighed down by it, and at the same time as being true to themselves has not just been successfully accomplished, it has been totally vaulted over with grace, style and engagement. I find it hard to imagine that they could have achieved it any more completely than they have - daevid, I know, would be over-joyed.

There are simply no weak tracks. After the 'flag-planting' opening track comes the celebratory 'Rejoice!' for our absent friend, the Floydian 'Kapital' and two ethereal cameo appearances by daevid himself. The last three tracks put me in mind of the second side of 'You' (yes, I think it could be that that good) in the quality of their musicality, narrative and even the 'inner' journey they invite you on.

I just cry at the end of the album each time I listen to it.

The sound quality is fantastic, it's a really well produced album. A triumph in every respect.

I think the packaging for this regular CD edition is a didgi-pak with annotaed and illustrated booket.

Also available to pre-order on limited edition vinyl - 'Rejoyce! I'm Dead!' - 2LP

Also available to pre-order as Deluxe 12" Hardback 3 CD edition: Rejoice! I'm Dead! - Deluxe.

Tracks: [59.41]
  1. The Thing That Should Be [3'34] (kavus torabi)
  2. Rejoice! [10'17] (daevid allen, kavus torabi)
  3. Kapital [3'21] (daevid allen)
  4. Model Village [6'43] (dave sturt)
  5. Beatrix [2'54]
  6. Visions [4'29] (Ian East, Fabio Golfetti, Cheb Nettles, Dave Sturt, Kavus Torabi)
  7. The Unspeakable Stands Revealed [11'49] (kabus torabi)
  8. Through Restless Seas I Come [6'58] (kavus torabi)
  9. Insert Yr Own Prophecy [9'36] (kavus torabi)
  • Dave Sturt: {bass, vocals}
  • Kavus Tobabi: {vocals, guitar}
  • Fabio Golfetti: {guitar, vocals}
  • Ian East: {sax, flute}
  • Cheb Nettles: {drums, vocals}
  • Graham Clark: {violin - 1}
  • Steve Hillage: {guitar solo - 2}
  • Didier Malherbe: {duduk - 4,7}
Production credits:
  • Engineered by Nick Howiantz and Gong at Brixton Hill Studios, London, Spring 2016.
  • Mixed by Mark Cawthra (Infallible Ear) and Dave Sturt (Swimming Head)