gong mandalaplanet gong bazaar

artwork Steve Hillage
The Golden Vibe 2LP
Madfish SMALP1155 || 07.06.2019 || £20.83 USD  EUR  JPY  + p+p +tax

180-gram double vinyl limited edition of 1000. Wonderful guitar experiments - classic Hillage.

70 minutes of Steve surfing the Golden Vibe

A-capella, echo guitar session recorded in the Gong house in 1973 - 'Wata Trip!' - as it said on the tape box.

In May of 1973 Steve had been living in the Gong house near Sens, France for 5 months and creativity was bubbling up everywhere. The Paragong band of Didier Malherbe, Mike Howlett, Pierre Moerlen and Tim Blake with Switch Doctor Venux de Luxe at the 'controls' were bonding and giging, and an 'Angel's Egg' of music was in incubation.

One evening in his room, with Miquette changing the Revox reels, Steve embarked on several hours of deep a-capella, echo guitar experimentation - the classic Hillage sound.

The edits which were included in the wonderous 'Searching For The Spark' Box-set (which was limited to 22 discs) were so eagerly received that they demanded to be expanded and even more released in one gorgeous musical journey. So here they are.

Gatefold cover, 180gm double vinyl.

Also available on CD... 'The Golden Vibe' CD

Side A:
  1. The Golden Vibe [4.05]
  2. Calling You [3.54]
  3. Frame By Frame [2.15]
  4. The Dervish Riff [2.12]
  5. Water Trip (extended) [5.42]
Side B:
  1. Leyline Drips [5.12]
  2. Hanging Lead [4.31]
  3. Back To The Future Glid [6.36]
  4. Pre Glid [2.52]
Side C:
  1. Scorchio [4.09]
  2. Comes Alive [7.25]
  3. Out There [5.35]
Side D:
  1. Melting Leadatron (extended) [11.28]
  2. Flutterati [5.01]
  • Steve Hillage {guitar}