planet gong bazaar

artwork Kavus Torabi
Hip To The Jag LP
Believers Roast BR23 | 22.05.2020

Richly rewarding debut - totally new yet strangely familiar.

If you bonded with Gong's 'The Universe Also Collapses' look no further...

Limited edition of 500

A beautifully balanced combination of engaging, psychedelic 'ambient concrete', often other-worldly pieces created with layers of harmonium and treated guitar, interspersed with heartfelt, sometimes esoterically tinged songs of love and loss, wonder and despair. There is a honest, even raw edge to the proceedings which cannot fail to strike a chord. And despite the personal, yet expansive nature of the album it's tempting to imagine full Gong band versions of certain tracks.

Kavus' wide-ranging love and knowledge of music, and the joyful struggle he engages in while creating it, shines bright throughout. A myriad deftly woven musical influences create a final rich, uniquely Torabi tapestry. This is a man who knows what he is doing - in the most intuative of ways. The planets were surely aligned and daevid's intuition on beam when he asked whether Kavus would like to join the Gong dance to see where it all led. This particular encampment on that ongoing journey is a rather wonderful, mature and poignant album.

Ltd. edition of 500 black vinyl LP version in single sleeve with printed double-sided inner sleeve containing all the lyrics. Artwork by Kavus. Initial few copies in stock are signed by the man himself.

Also available: 'Hip To The Jag' CD.

Note: due to the weight of this package the shopping cart gets the postage wrong - it's too low. You will be debited for the price of the LPs plus the cost price of the p&p, plus VAT for customers in the UK

  • UK: £4.10 - 2nd class Small Parcel (total of £22.92 inc. P&P + VAT)
  • Europe: £8.25 - International Standard (total of £27.90 incl. P&P + VAT)
  • USA & Rest of World: £11.06 - International Standard (total of £26.06 incl. P&P)

A Side:
  1. Chart The Way [2'43]
  2. Silent The Rotor [4'25]
  3. A Body Of Work [2'32]
  4. The Peacock Throne [3'49]
  5. You Broke My Fall [7'03]
  6. Cemetery Of Light [3'55]
B Side:
  1. Radio To Their World [4'09]
  2. My Cold Rebirth [4'57]
  3. Where The Eyeless Walk [2'54]
  4. Slow Movements [9'26]
  • Kavus Torabi: {All songs, all playing - almost everything, except...}
  • Sima Torabi: {bells on 'The Eyeless Walk'}
Production credits:
  • Recording and mixing...guess who...begins with K
  • Mastering James Plotkin
  • Layout David Barclay